A note on the trade

ILOSAV SLAVKO PESIC, writes following the view he who wants to be a master, must start learning early (Johann Christoph Friedrich von Schiller). Many times he discarded his early works with the same fervour as the late ones. Writing is erasing. A master is always at the beginning; always unsatisfied.

Pesic gave up verse, and turned to prose, but his first book was not in prose: he gave his manuscript to a barman in the Club of the Faculty of Philology to hand it to an editor of a publishing house. As luck would have it, someone came early, someone came late, and the manuscript got lost, without another copy in scanty times.

Before publishing his first poetry collection, Pesic entered the anthology of Zoran Gluscevic, In Uncertain Times, and the anthology of Bogdan A. Popovic, Poetry and Tradition, as well as many critical selections.

The Book of Genesis (1972) appeared when the poets of the generation bound their poems. It was the first in everything: graphically imprinted into deluxe cardboard without the colour even on covers, extravagant, with collectors' design, with the circulation of a best seller, cellophane-wrapped (plasticizing machines did not exist at the time), and to enable readers to make their own contents, the book was not bound up. An Afterword by Predrag Dragic Keeyuk was printed like on the Möbius strip. There followed the issue of a cult literary review Vidici (40x57cm format, like Die Zeit): in the outer column a cycle of Pesic's poems, the rest of the page empty! The next book (1978) Helen Sleeps with Her Biceps under the Head, was illustrated with the unique drawings by a painter Milan Uzelac.

Pesic's books are readers' holidays with their contents, and the visual feasts with their designs. More about them on the online address www.pesic.name

Translated from the Serbian by Lazar Macura




Шака мрака

Мастило је горко / ink is bitter

Књига промена

У дом за старе стигао је комунизам

Писма осамљеника

Глумци одлазе, сире

Бенгалска ватра глуме

Смрт је ловац самотан

Мачје, мишје и друге

Мирна кућа

Мефистов вез

С љубечитим штовањем

Вечерња благост

Тамни вилајет


Кад те заболи душа

Мали знаци неверства

Човек против себе

Хелена спава с мишицом под главом

Књига постања